Andrew Redward Racing

motorsport and lifestyle blog

4&Rotary Jamboree at Manfield

Leave a comment

4&Rotary Promotions holds an event every year at Manfield Motorsports complex in Fielding, Manawatu.  They call it the Jamboree, and it packs a variety of attractions all into one day.  While others came down for the time attack battle, dyno runs, car show, etc, I brought my RX7 down to have a proper run at drifting my favourite racetrack in New Zealand.

The pit paddocks at Manfield are basically horse stalls, we tried to make the most of ours as we watched the storm clouds start to roll in.  The first session we headed out with a dry track, I had two laps before it started to spit, then within 5 minutes it was a downpour!  I adapted quite well in the rx7 thanks to the massive steering angle.

The same couldn’t be said about the time attack session that went out after the drifters, with one car rolling, another going off into the wall, and an evo hydroplaning down the front straight doing helicopters!  The drivers were all called for a wet weather briefing where they were told to take it easy.  you can tell how much water is on the track by the rooster tails in the below picture.

I ended up qualifying 5th after going too hard in my qualifying runs and taking a spin in the slippery conditions.  This event wasn’t for points, so I was more concerned with putting on a good show as opposed to consistent results.  I cruised through the first battle, then was up against Dan “Fanga” Woolhouse for my top8 battle.  He spun when leading, handing me the win.

I was in the top4, and the clouds were fading away.  With multiple other battles going on and a few re-runs, I had a good 30minutes of down time before my battle with Daynom Templeman.  When we headed into battle, the sweeper was still slippery but then I switched back for the midfield section and it had hugely gripped up, making me adjust my line and grip up, handing the win to daynom.

The battle for 3rd & 4th pitted me against Cole Armstrong in the V R34.  Cole has been plagued with oil surge issues lately, and unfortunately his car cut out mid-corner, handing me 3rd place.  It was great to be on the podium, but at the same time alot of the battles could have gone better.  I prefer having a good battle and winning it, but if I do lose, I want it to be when I can drive to my full extent and not lose because of conditions or car failure etc.  I’m sure all competitors in the drift scene feel the same way.  The victory burnouts at the end were probably the highlight of the day, with some actual smoke coming out to say hello.

Thanks to all my sponsors and the people that have helped me at each of these events:

Nankang Tyres, Advanti Racing, Turtlewax F21, Enkei Racing Wheels, NZAD D1Racing, Alfa panelbeaters, Eastern Automotive, HSD Suspension, Dodsons Performance, Demon Graphics, Tristan Roper, Ross Redward.

Leave a comment