Andrew Redward Racing

motorsport and lifestyle blog

D1NZ Round5, Pukekohe, March 11th & 12th

1 Comment

After nearly two years, the D1NZ National Drifting Championship returned to Pukekohe Park Raceway.  The weekend of the 11th & 12th saw New Zealands top drifters come out to what I consider as the birthplace of competitive drifting in New Zealand. This was the first track I went to after I moved here from California, and although it may not be the best presented or highest budget track, there is just something about Pukekohe that seems special to me.

It’s a track that can’t be underestimated, it demands total commitment, and respect.  Coming into the first corner, the infamous sweeper, we are asked to be sideways at 200km/h.  This is the only corner in New Zealand that gets my heart cranking and demands my full attention.

This was the first full day that I’ve had my new RX7 out on Pukekohe, and I was really looking forward to how the LS6 powered lightweight car would handle the high speed track.  I started by working my way back from the esses, every lap entering the sweeper faster and earlier.  But problems had arisen with the noise restrictions that Pukekohe runs, we were black flagged off the course numerous times after trying nearly everything possible, from putting 90degree bends on to stuffing fruit cans with steelo and chicken mesh, we were having no luck.  Then, thanks to my friend Dominic, we managed to get hold of a muffler with built in silencer, this was quickly bolted and tied to the rear of my car.  The end result wasn’t pretty, took away alot of power, and meant I couldn’t run my rear bumper, but at least I was back out on the track!!!

I quickly found out that the wing was too effective at high speeds, placing too much downforce on the rear of the car and making it difficult to initiate the drift at over 190km/h.  We removed it Saturday morning and I instantly was able to run consistent 185-190km/h runs.  The car was going great, and the Nankang tyres were wearing perfectly with our alignment settings.  I was happy with the setup, so we got back to the pits for the lunchtime activities and waited for qualifying to start.  While we were waiting, the TurtleWax F21 girls washed the car down in pit lane.

After lunch, we gridded up for our 3 qualifying runs.  With the new Nankangs scrubbed in, I was ready to go.  My first lap was my best, with a clean line through the entire section.  My second lap I went through the main sweeper at 196km/h in 5th gear, but ran too wide and came off the track at the end.  My third lap, I had some sloppy corrections at the end of the sweeper due to a really fast entry speed.  I was happy with my first run, and so were the judges, awarding me with 3rd place for qualifying.


My first battle, I was pitted against south islander Paul Tomlin.  Paul had qualified 13th, using a borrowed car from D1 Rookie competitor Nate Steel.  He was driving extremely well for a car he had never used before, and probably the lowest budget vehicle in the whole field!  I led out on the first run and won with 10-0 when Paul took a half-spin at the end of the sweeper.  In my chase, I slightly underestimated him, and left too much of a gap to properly chase him through the section.  I managed to catch up at the end, but not by much.  I could sense the judges weren’t happy, but still awarded a 5-5 draw, which meant I was through to the top8.

I was staged ready for my top8 battle, when I saw Cole Armstrong being towed back to the pits.  He had to forfeit his battle due to drivetrain issues, which meant I was through to the top4.  A bit unfortunate that we couldn’t have battled, but there are always alot of breakages due to Pukekohe being such an unforgiving track.

Dan Woolhouse was the next person to make it through to the top4, and he would be my opponent in the semi finals.  I knew I had an advantage as my speeds through the judged section were quicker than his, but he is a really strong driver and has a lot of battle experience so anything could happen.  I led out from the top of Ford Mountain, entering at just over 190, it was a great run and I had the advantage.  On my chase I paced him down the front straight and we both threw it into the sweeper not realising there was dirt on the track from the other battle that was going on!  Fanga and I both ran a hugely wide line, with myself getting near backwards angle I pulled through and was straight back on him.

I was closing the gap, but did a fatal mistake coming into the final corner.  Dan slightly tapped his brakes, and with not fully being used to my new car I did the same which sent me on a wider line.  I ended up putting both rear wheels off onto the ripple strip exiting the corner, which meant a zero.  Lesson learned:  STAY ON THE GAS!  Check out the video below from Olly-

My battle for 3rd & 4th was up against current points leader Curt Whittaker.  My lead run was good, but I made a small mistake at the end of the sweeper.  In my chase we entered around 195km/h, but I didn’t initiate hard enough and ended up understeering.  I kept it straight and just went through the sand trap to slow down, the last thing I wanted was to hit the sand sideways, as I know what sort of damage that can do!  Curt went through to take 3rd, and I walked away with the consolation of 4th place.

I’m getting more and more confident in the new vehicle, and with 3 major events before the end of april, I’m really looking forward to more track time.

The weekend was all made worthwhile when I was standing there in front of all the crowd with the top4, then putting on a show with some massive v8 powered burnouts!

A huge thanks goes out to all my sponsors for making it possible for us to be out there:  Nankang Performance Tyres;  TurtleWax F21;  Enkei Racing Wheels;  NZAD D1 Racing; Alfa Panelbeaters;  HSD Suspension;  Eastern Automotive Performance Center; Demon Graphics;  Resene Auto Paints.

And all the people that helped over the weekend:  Tristan, Dad, Kat, Dom, Beano, Adam.  You guys are awesome.

One thought on “D1NZ Round5, Pukekohe, March 11th & 12th

Leave a comment